The Department of Agronomy is working under the umbrella of College of Agriculture since its establishment in 2005. We are serving the nation through conducting high impact applied research in all aspects of crop production, crop growth modeling, crop mechanization, weed science and natural resource management to address immediate problems and anticipate future challenges. The Department aims at producing the graduates capable to perform in a competitive environment of field-oriented work and contribute to country's national economy.

The Department is offering PhD, MSc (Hons) and BSc (Hons) programs to produce highly skilled and technically sound manpower to solve the problems related to crop production and soil management. Our vision is to provide leadership in agronomic education with focus on problem oriented research and mission to generate, integrate and apply knowledge about crop plants that are grown for food, feed, fiber and the general benefit of people. The mission of the Department is to find and disseminate answers to problems through the integration of teaching, research and extension/outreach efforts.

The Department is one of the leading departments in the country having nine PhDs in its faculty with a number of scholarships and awards. Some of the prestigious awards include Australian Government Post-Doc Fellowship Award, HEC Fellowships, Faculty Development Fellowship, International Technology Award, International Innovation Gold Medal and National Innovation Award.

Dr. Muhammad Ather Nadeem
Professor / Chairman